Zimbabwe’s Annual Racing Awards

Morgan Nyamagete Paul Muscutt Trophy

Racing awards are taking place everywhere but due to the annual racing break in Zimbabwe no announcements have been made so far.

However, the Spey Bridge panel has met and, for the first time, is releasing names of horses nominated in the different categories, where applicable. Most of the other racing awards are based on statistics.

The Spey Bridge trophies were first awarded in 1985/86 and named in honour of Spey Bridge, who was owned and bred in this country by Mrs Ella Lockie. In 1956 Spey Bridge was South Africa’s record stake earner. Since then others have kept the Zimbabwe banner flying, topped by Ipi Tombe, winner of the Vodacom Durban July and the Dubai Duty Free Stakes.

Over the years there have been many deserving horses and people in our racing industry, and making final selections has not always been easy. Spey Bridge awards are not automatically bestowed by the panel – they have to be earned – and sometimes an award is withheld.

The actual Spey Bridge Floating Trophies, with names engraved, provide a solid record of achievements in our racing industry. Each trophy was individually carved in Africa Stone by Alex Million at the Cannon Paterson Centre Mbare. They are very heavy and fragile and cannot be replaced, so they don’t actually float and winners receive mementoes.

Prior to her resignation in October 2016, Jackie Cocksedge had served on the Spey Bridge Panel for 30 years, latterly as Vice-Chairman and Chairman. Someone should twist her arm and make her come back as Thomas Mason, who took over as Chairman, is now based in South Africa.

Another prestigious award is the Paul Muscutt Trophy, presented by the Muscutt family in memory of Zimbabwean jockey Paul Muscutt who died tragically in a plane accident.


Spey Bridge Champion Three-Year-Old Female – Wild Imogen and Raven Girl

Spey Bridge Champion Three-Year-Old Male – Peggson, Knuckleball and Butchie Boy

Spey Bridge Champion Sprinter – Coachella, Supa Good and Life Is Good

Spey Bridge Champion Older Horse – Ashton Park, Simona and Roman Discent

Spey Bridge Horse Of The Year – Knuckleball and Simona

Photograph: The Paul Muscutt Trophy which was won by Morgan Nyamagwete, and presented by Joyce Piers, in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s